School Logo


Nursery School

Where Happy Children Learn

EYFS Curriculum

What does your child learn at school each day? Find information about our curriculum subjects here.

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) at Ashworth Nursery School

We love learning in Early Years!  In Nursery we work from the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.  The children develop through playing and exploring, active learning and creating and thinking critically.  There are 7 areas of learning which are divided in to the prime (Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Communication and Language and Physical Development) and specific areas (Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design).


The prime areas are fundamental throughout the EYFS and the specific areas include the skills and knowledge which provide important contexts for learning and they develop more fully towards the end of the early years.  The children are immersed in lots of practical, first-hand learning experiences through which they are encouraged to explore, experiment and develop their language.  The children use both the indoor and outdoor classroom during teacher directed and child initiated times.  We have a particular love for outdoor learning and each day we go outdoors to learn about our outdoor environment.

We work hard at Ashworth to provide a quality, stimulating learning environment for our children in EYFS.


EYFS Policy