School Logo


Nursery School

Where Happy Children Learn

EYFS Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum


We work from the Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Framework which sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to five years old. All schools and Ofsted registered early years providers must follow the EYFS.


The four guiding principles


There are four guiding principles in the EYFS, we believe it is important that these principles are used when implementing the seven learning and development areas in the EYFS.
The principles are: - 

  1.  That every child is unique
  2. That every child can learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships
  3. That children learn and develop best in enabling environments
  4. That children develop and learn in different ways


For more information see PDF below.

Areas of learning and development


There are seven areas of learning and development. The areas are: -


  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design




The main components of each of the seven areas are: -

 Personal, Social and Emotional experiences are about:

  • Self-confidence & awareness
  • Managing feelings and behaviour
  • Making relationships


Physical Development experiences are about:

  • Moving and handling
  • Health and self-care


Communication and Language experiences are about:

  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking


 Literacy experiences are about:

  • Reading
  • Writing


 Mathematics experiences are about:

  • Numbers
  • Shapes, space and measures


Understanding the World experiences are about:

  • People and communities
  • The world
  • Technology


Expressive Arts & Design experiences are about:

  • Exploring and using media and materials
  • Being imaginative